Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many healthy problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Nowadays, many food companies produce unhealthy products with high levels of harmful content which leads to many disorders. Some individuals strongly support the notion that the cost of these materials has to be increased remarkably eventually limiting their use. Admittedly, I completely agree that the increasing price of these kinds of products will lead to less consumption of them. The first and most compelling reason is that companies always think about the cons and pros of the product’s price. If it is not cost-effective for them to add more expensive sugar to their vintage, they will restrict it and consequently replace it with some healthy contents. Based on a study which had been conducted in some food factories, they have used some cheaper organic materials as sweeter instead of sugar and scientists compared the rate of selling this food as compared to other sugary ones. According to this analysis, interestingly people tended to buy organic products more. Yet, another axiomatic argument is that poor families will purchase cheaper supplies and it is the fact that they do not care much about the contents. Hence, several diseases due to bad diet have increased remarkably among those groups. The increase in sugar prices can automatically reduce the consumption of sweets in these categories. On the other hand, many wealthy families pay more attention to these habits and as they look for the contents of sugar in a specific food, irrespective of its price, they know these foods are detrimental and do not buy as much as possible. In conclusion, I believe the idea of increasing the price of unhealthy raw materials, can lead to restriction of their usage.