Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible arguments on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

Nobody can deny that parental influence is essential for children, at least in cases where children live with their parents, foster family or guardians. However, being away from family and socializing with peer is also crucial to child’ development, especially in the formative years. On the one hand, it is true that parents should be role models for their children, leading them to the progression. Nowadays, many responsible parents are keen to spend time with their children. As a result of this, they are able to prevent children’s misconduct such as bullying, absenteeism and misconduct. Furthermore, being with the family should reduce the risk of children falling victim to crimes such as abduction, or coming under the influence of negative peer pressure. On the other hand, it is impossible to take much care of children where both of the parents are the breadwinner. Consequently, they often travel on business trips for extended periods. However, child-minding and after-school childcare are best suitable option for this kind of family. If managed properly, these can be viable alternatives. In addition, spending most of time outside of the home is beneficial for children and their parents, at least communicating with peers will develop children’s soft skills. To conclude, while family time is essential for bonding and absorbing patterns of behaviour, there are definite advantages when children are outside the family too. However, this is only possible in a safe environment with well-brought up peers. However, this is only possible in a safe environment with well-brought up peers.