Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The use of physical discipline on children is being debated in culture today. Some parents are of the opinion that correcting children can be best achieved by spanking. This essay will argue that while physical punishment may be considered to be some benefit by some, it is in fact not entirely disadvantageous. The essence of discipline is to correct, modify and impart good behaviour; those who smack their wards in some way believe this to be the most appropriate method to achieve this. Many conservative parents think that proper discipline lies in the use of corporal punishment, in addition, they imagine that the long lasting memory created may prevent the child from repeating said behaviour. For instance, operant conditioning by psychologist, B.F Skinner, says,” positive punishment in children (for example, whipping) removes undesired conduct.” As a result of this, some parents may tilt towards the use of physical discipline as a means of controlling their children ’s actions. However, I consider the idea of corporal punishment rendered on children to be completely barbaric in nature. According to modern children psychologists, the negative impact created by the use of physical means to punish a child is not restricted to their physical state but also emotional. Additionally, It damages the foundation of trust between the caregiver and child, which should normally be the bedrock of any relationship. Fear instilled in their young minds causes them to conceal their true concerns and feelings- they become shadows of themselves. Hereafter, this could manifest as personality disorders. To illustrate, a study shows that majority of individuals struggling with borderline personality disorder, were beaten by caregivers during their childhood. Hence, I strongly dissent the utilization of physical punishment as a means to train a child. This essay argued that smacking is a crude form of discipline on children. In my opinion, it is detrimental to both their physical and emotional state, thus, I completely disagree with this disciplinary form.