Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Learning finance is vital for every living human because everyone, one way or the other, spends money. But should financial education be compulsory in schools these days? This essay will discuss the reasons why financial economics should be incorporated into the school programme. Firstly, learning about finances enhances savings culture. Spending is not the only component of finance, but keeping the surplus funds after spending is also a discipline, that should be taught in schools. Saving is, however, as important as spending because it assures a person of the future unexpected occurrences on which he has to spend. For instance, the banking habit of the youths in Sri-Lanka improved a few years after their government included financial studies in their school curriculum, and they realized that a lot of the students were being prudent already and had embraced the saving tradition. However, this reflects the effect of financial education in schools. In addition to this, including the financial studies in school programme will enhance the students' academic results. Most subjects in schools these days are majorly based on the ability to use numbers. Therefore, studying finance will further support their calculating skills. For example, a child in the UK, mentioned in an interview that his interest in learning finance got him better grades in other courses he the involved calculations. This further explains why financial education should be added to school syllabuses. In summary, finance as an everyday activity, requires thorough education. However, with the few points stated above, I absolutely agree that financial education should be a mandatory component of the school programme. As it cannot be avoided as long as a person lives.