Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operative rather than compete become more useful aduts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions of people on upbringing and to make children responsible human beings in the future. Some people argue that competition should be taught in children, while others think that both competitive and cooperative behaviours are equally important. However, I believe that a sense of cooperation is more important than competition as it helps a child become a better person in society. On the one hand, some people suggest that a sense of competition in children should be instilled from childhood as it motivates them to work hard and understand their true potential by achieving their aim. Thus, competition enhances motivation and gives a sense of accomplishment. A healthy competition may build a child ’s self-confidence and determination to accomplish the goal in competitive situations. But if a child is pressurized too much, it will be counterproductive. For instance, if a child participates in a quiz competition and competes with others, the child undergoes the pressure of teachers or parents. They try to win the competition at any cost without zeal in learning or any knowledge acquiring spirit. On the other hand, some people opine that cooperation is more powerful than competition for an individual to become successful. In other words, people believe that cooperation will allow children to understand and adjust to the requirements of others in their team. It will encourage children to have a good relationship with others and respect others ’ opinions. Moreover, the collaboration will bring wonderful outcomes for a team. For example, if children cooperate, they can understand the importance of sharing, exchanging ideas and help, accepting and respecting each other’s opinions, and tolerating each other. Cooperation is a must-have attribute at every step of our life. To summarize, in my opinion, both competition and cooperation are highly vital for children ’s development. While I believe that competition is required at some point in our lives, cooperation is necessary for overall development.