These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

Providing online classes has become a common practice among most universities recent years. Despite recognizing its primary drawbacks, I overall feel that the positive sides of this trend certainly eclipse them. On the one hand, university courses taught via the Internet put students at some demerits. First and foremost, those taking such classes tend to struggle with lapse of focus on education as there is no urge to enable them to do their home assignments and academic projects which is the reverse for conventional teaching classes. Ultimately, this may lead to overall failure of students and, more seriously, they might quit from their studies. Secondly, traditional learning environment accommodates students with a healthy rivalry that entitles them to cultivate their competence and skills as well as enhance collaboration. Sadly, online classes are bound to fail this opportunity as there might not be any partner around the student. That being said, students are high-likely to reap several tremendous merits, should they attend online course. One major advantage is obviously time. Rather than obeying the robotic university hours, those students can learn every time they want. Due to the speedy Internet access, nowadays, it is no longer a challenging task. For instance, one may focus on gaining a hands-on experience through working while studying as well, whenever he finds spare time, say in the evenings. From a financial angle, the aforementioned development can come in handy for students, especially for international ones. Today, it is hardly necessary for them to travel over long distances and face economic hardships in a foreign country so as to study abroad in tertiary education by virtue of online courses. Not only can this significant positive side entitle students to immerse in their studies, but also it helps them feel affection from caregivers which leads to overwhelming success. In conclusion, even though there are some disadvantages to taking online classes offered by universities, I firmly believe that they are certainly outstripped with the potential benefits created by this phenomenon. (332 words)