Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people contend that having a life in another country which requires to speak local language will bring social and practical issues, nevertheless, from my perspective, it can bring many merits to the society and individuals. To begin with, if one country persists on utilizing the mother language, their cultural heritage may be protected better for future generations, because an increasing population is involved even every new comer is without the exception, which means there is an upward trend can be seen of the frequency of speaking lingo and due to that, the language can be inherited and promoted. English is such an example, in the contemporary epoch, almost everyone can speak English and make it a universal language. Additionally, people improve their communication efficiency through speaking the local language continuously, since they can interact with their workmates and professionals more smoothly, it means that there will exist less information gap and misunderstanding. In contrast, if people have to use different language to join a meeting, they may need a person or a software to translate each other’s contents, hence, it would be a waste of time on interaction, and eventually, they may have less willing to speak. It is true that having to speak a foreign language also has some disadvantages, as new immigrant may find it difficult in their daily lives such as shopping and opening a bank account. However, language is the fundamental requirement, wherever people living, they need to be capable of basic communication ability. In conclusion, I think the merits of sticking to speak a foreign language overtake its demerits to individuals and the society.