Ambition is an important characteristic of people. How important is it for people to make success in life? Is it a positive or negative characteristic for success

There is no doubt that our aspiration to succeed is important and it guides us through the process towards their goals. Being ambitious is considered to be an essential quality of a uccessful person. In my point of view, ambition brings about both advantages and disadvantages. Those with strong motivation tend to set high goals in their studies or work and devote themselves to achieving these goals. Driven by enthusiasm, they are more self-disciplined and self-motivated than those who have less desire for succeeding. When meeting hardships, ambitious ones show more courage and determination to overcome the barriers, as they cannot put up with failure. In addition, since competition is getting fierce in every aspect of our lives those with ambitious characteristics are more likely to adapt to society and defeat their rivals. However, ambition may exert negative impacts in some circumstances if not handled properly. For instance, it is more likely that citizens metropolises diagnosed with depression or anxiety as they fail to strike a balance between work and life. Many of them are snowed under with homework or tasks, striving for higher salaries and promotions. Similarly, the sense of competition is a double-edged sword.High achievers may pursue their dreams at the sacrifice of something that is also important in their lives. As a result, it may jeopadize their both mental and physical health in the long term. To sum up, ambitious characteristics can drive us to overcome challenges and achieve success, but it is better for us to be aware of the negative effects of being over-ambitious. The key never to tip a balance in favour of either side.