Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

It's common to hear that some film companies spend a lot of money, even millions of dollars, on movie production. This makes people ask if it's necessary to spend so much to make a good movie, and I personally believe it's necessary a big investment in order to achieve the range of elements that makes it a success. Firstly, all good movies are composed of good actors and even Hollywood stars, and these professionals have expensive salaries. Besides that, the recordings last for many months, which means, many salaries payments, accommodation and food need to be provided. Secondly, it's necessary to invest in a lot of technologies to get special effects creating situations that are not possible to do naturally. This is what makes it possible to bring some great and creative ideas to life. Thirdly, the film is not just made of movie stars, there is a large team behind the scenes, including directors, supervisors, cameramen, actors, dublês, maids, cleaners and many others. And lastly, all the marketing and advertising take a good part of the budget, which is completely understandable, because there's no point in invest so much work, special effects, having the most famous people on that and not publicizing it properly. As far as I am concerned, this accounts for a good percentage of the reach. In conclusion, this is a very rich market and to be successful in it involves creativity, original ideas, technology, known artists, powerful marketing and, of course, a lot of money.