Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that advertising has positive impacts on individuals and businesses, whereas others think the opposite. Although the latter view can be true to some extent, in my opinion, the former view seems to be more reasonable. On the one hand, advertising is believed to leave several detrimental implications for consumers and companies due to some reasons. In terms of individuals, people nowadays get overwhelmed when having too much exposure to an increasing number of advertisements on a daily basis. As a consequence, consumers are likely to be lured by the power of marketing techniques and make impulsive purchases which can be a waste of money. In addition, businesses are put under financial burdens when they have to allocate a huge amount of money for promotional campaigns besides covering the running costs. In other words, spending on advertisements will be unavoidable if companies want to publicize their brands, leading to some financial constraints in case of unsuccessful advertising strategies. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that advertising can be considered as positive since it brings about numerous benefits to individuals and enterprises. First of all, it is undeniable that customers can have better shopping experiences thanks to advertisements. To be more specific, advertising can be deemed an effective form of commercial communication which demonstrates key features of a product, so consumers can be better informed and make wiser purchasing decisions. Secondly, regarding the beneficial impacts on businesses, I believe that advertising helps companies survive and develop in a competitive market. Through advertisements, famous brands can enhance their company’s image, contributing to attracting new potential customers and increasing sales. In conclusion, although I accept that advertising can have some severe effects, I still strongly support the view that it benefits individuals and businesses in many ways.