Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development?

In the world today, an increasing proportion of individuals with medical issues prefer to seek another alternative instead of seeing their medical practitioners. This is due to the high cost of Medical care and the consequence of this trend is an increased morbidity and mortality rate. On the one hand, the influx on usage of other medicines is due to expensive Medical services, whereby people cannot afford to pay for their health bills, thus making them seek other solutions to their health issues. For example, in the world today, some terminally ill patients cannot pay their insurance and without medical insurance, consultation fees are too costly before one thinks of the money for medications. They feel frustrated and seek cheap services from herbal practitioners, where they think their problems will be solved but it's worsening their situations. Consequently, this development results in life-threatening situations as it increases the morbidity and mortality rate because these measures taken are not the right ones, most are based on trial and error methods, which in,turn end them in a bad condition, where some complications left them bedridden and the unfortunate ones lost their lives. For,example the increase in maternal and child mortality in developing countries is due to the patronage of some quacks who lack basic knowledge and are not certified by the regulatory board of that state. Furthermore, some sick human beings have certain weird beliefs that their ailment might be metaphysical so they find solutions in spiritual houses such as Churches, Mosques and even traditional shrines. For example, in 2018, some mentally ill patients were rescued from churches and traditional shrines in Nigeria. Where they were chained and fed herbal medicines. The environment was unclean and all patients were malnourished, and the ones that are dead were buried within the surroundings. However, this is not a solution to their worries as it only made it worse and raised the death ratio. In conclusion, going for other means of care in treating illnesses rather than taking professional services is on a rising figure these days, and is causing more harm than good to the wellbeing of these sick humans, which could be prevented by support from the government on health care services and also creating awareness of the dangers ahead.