‘People aim to achieve balance between work and other activities of their lives, but few are able to do this.’ Suggest problems in balancing and some solutions for overcoming such problems.

Over the past few years, the population of working women has increased tremendously. Hence, the role of mother and father is becoming similar and interchangeable. The impact of this trend is pervasive and multi-faceted. Most of the working couples face miscellaneous problems while balancing their work life. Some people are able to manage their jobs and domestic life perfectly whereas, others face difficulties in equalizing their office and family. In this essay I will discuss about different problems of work-life balance and ways to overcome them. People often ignore their health and personal needs while taking care of their family and job. Moreover, it creates a huge communication gap between the family members. As a result, the urge of building and maintaining a relationship is deteriorating day by day. To rectify this issue, companies can provide flexible working hours to the employees. Additionally, employers can also provide the facility of child care and elder care to their staff. Generally, people play multiple roles in their personal and professional lives to keep up with the fast paced world. In this process, they need to switch from one task to another. During this transition, it sometimes becomes challenging to remain emotionally intelligent and stress-free. We tend to bring official issues to our home, thereby, it adversely affects other members as well. Therefore, to mitigate this concern, companies should cater gym, yoga and other recreational facilities in office premises. Furthermore, since both husband and wife are employed, they are not able to spend enough time with their old parent and children. As a result, somewhere they always carry an emotional guilt for prioritizing their work over the family. People undergo frequent job hopping and transfers to maintain a harmony between their career and family. In order to deal with this problem, companies should provide an array of leaves and allowances to their employees. Eventually, this practice will help the people to enjoy quality time with their family and loved- ones. Overall, in today’s competitive world, organisations and employees are working together incessantly to earn profits. People get no time to take care of their health and family. I believe, by making certain changes to the policies, companies can support their employees to balance their work-life smoothly.