Nowadays, internet and television have given ordinary people a chance to become famous. Is this a positive or negative development?

Fame is one of the most sought-after attributes in our society, and thanks to the Internet and TV, just about everyone stands a fair chance of becoming famous. To my way of thinking, while this phenomenon is not without its drawbacks, it is generally a favourable state of affairs. Admittedly, the fact that everyday people can become instantly famous on such platforms as the Internet and TV is undesirable in some ways. For a start, it promotes a rather skewed idea of success. When people with no expertise or decent educational background become popular through the Internet, it creates the impression that one can become successful without a school degree and hard work. As a result, more and more teenagers, who are often easily influenced by celebrities, quit school and bet their entire future on becoming internet famous. Even if they make it into the world of fame, their success is often short-lived. This is because one’s success on the Internet and TV hinges on their talent and creativity level, which tend to vary over time. I, on the other hand, see this change in a more positive light. The main reason is that the Internet and TV allow common men to make a fortune with minimal effort. YouTube content creators such as PewDiePie and Ninja, who come from underprivileged families, now make millions with the means of the Internet using their limited skill set. Were it not for the Internet, these people would have a slim chance of succeeding in life. This phenomenon has also helped level the playing field. In the past, people mostly became famous through connections like family and friends. However, now everyone has equal chances to rise to fame owing to the Internet and TV as long as they are talented and creative. To conclude, while one should not overlook the downsides to fame achieved on the Internet or TV, I am inclined to say that it is generally a positive change since it facilitates more attainable and equitable means of making a better living and succeeding in life