In some countries privately owned transport systems have a poor safety record. Yet it is the government who have ultimate responsibility for public safety. How can governments ensure that private transport companies do not neglect safety regulations?

It has been widely reported that private companies which provide transportation service to the public do not follow the rules regarding safety properly. Considering it is the government’s duty to guarantee that passengers are safe at all times, they should tackle this issue by imposing fines on the companies that disrespect safety regulations and prohibiting them to provide this service if they frequently disobey the legislation. First and foremost, the government should impose fines on any and every transport company that does not follow safety legislation. If these institutions are afraid of getting fines, they will more likely abide by the rules, which will definitely make people who use this kind of transport feel safer. However, there are private organizations who do not care about paying fines because they have too much money. Therefore, there is a reasonable likelihood that these corporations would continue to ignore safety regulations. Another great solution which could be implemented in order to enhance public safety is prohibiting these companies to run their business if they disrespect the safety rules too many times. Even though this action would diminish the range of choice local residents would have concerning transportation, it would undoubtedly make other private companies think twice before disobeying regulations regarding the passengers’s safety. As an illustration of this, the mayor of my city has recently applied this measure and the outcomes were astonishing because the rate of accidents caused by poor safety in transport dropped to 5 percent. In conclusion, private corporations that offer transportation services to citizens must be called out by the government about their unacceptable behavior of neglecting safety legislation. This can be addressed by imposing fines on the organizations that refuse to follow the rules and prohibiting them to run their business if they continue to disrespect the law.