Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that modern kids appear to be more physically inactive during leisure time than their past generations. While I agree that sporting hours are vital for a child’s growth and development, I would argue that such schemes should be optional instead of compulsory. Admittedly, doing physical exercise might offer a range of benefits for a kid’s all-round educational development. Firstly, an active schoolboy can reduce potential risks of serious diseases such as diabetes, obesity or more dangerously heart attack. This is due to the fact that secondary students take P.E lessons on a regular basis, leading to strengthening stamina, flexibility and building up a better body. Secondly, the opportunity to take part in sporting classes is possibly a great way to relieve stress and put down the burdens of studying in the classroom context. For example, I remember participating in P.E hours every other day during high school, which was extremely pleasurable and helped me concentrate in a classroom context. Although physical activities play an essential part in the all-round progress of any school-age children, I do not believe that such educational programs have to be mandatory in a schoolhouse. By this, I mean that not every child is physically appropriate to carry out sport. For instance, if we tried to make sporting lessons compulsory in the school curriculum, this would severely result in unfair situations or even bad behaviours for those groups of pupils. By making such physical development schemes, optional, we could ensure that only motivated and suitable students took part. These youngsters would be able to get into better shape or even gain valuable competence for an adult working environment such as competition and collaboration skills. To conclude, even though engaging in physical exercises has a crucial role to play in a kid’s all-embracing education advancement, it is my firm belief that it is wiser to make such programs elective instead of obligatory.