Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As we all know, the COVID-19 has exerted a deleterious effect on human’s lifestyle and social stability. Under this circumstance, schools, especially universities are now providing certificates via online courses. While this method indeed brings many conveniences to students in foreign countries, I believe this is not a sustainable way and traditional one is better. In the following essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of learning via a screen and prove my statement with proper examples. On one hand, admittedly, studying online resolves the current problem, that we cannot meet our teachers face-to-face because of the pandemic, and it bring numerous practical benefits to both students and tutors. An apparent example can be viewed by international students. Due to the coronavirus, they were originally probably not able to continue their academic career in a foreign country. However, since the technology has already been a higher level than ever, they can still learn earn their degrees via an online curriculum. In addition, educational institutions are also benefited, because they do not need to refund the tuition that those students have already paid for. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of offering certificates via Internet classes, which make this new teaching method not permanent. Firstly, the jet lag is a big problem. Some foreign students might study at mid-night. If there was a change in time, such as postponement, it would influence their plans for the next day. Secondly, students ’ self-disciplines would be challenged. Due to difference location, tutors are not capable of supervising their students. Thus, only for learners who are good at self-controlling and persisting, they can be qualified in the examinations. The last problem is that students may cheat in the online exams or daily homework. As the risks of discovering are much lower, the potential for students who are not keen and interested to study doing this is greater. As a result, it makes an adverse effect on the universities’ reputation. In conclusion, although the online courses indeed tackle the present issues, the results and qualities of pupils’ performance cannot be guaranteed. Thus, I believe this kind of method should never be consider as the main form of educating, as well as granting diplomats.