Q. In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

Although people have celebrated traditional festivals for a long time, some traditional festivals and celebrations in several regions in the world have started to disappear in the present due to underlying reasons which should be looked into with effective strategy to bring back these celebrations to the community. To begin with, the development of technology and science has changed people's beliefs, which reduced the practices of the festivals, especially ones that related to supernature and spirits which most people might perceive as irrational in the present. Furthermore, most celebrations will disappear due to the fact that the younger generations are not interested in festivals compared to the older individuals. As a result, the changes in people's mindsets and the lack of interest in the celebrations of juveniles might cause the disappearance of festivals and celebrations forever. To reverse the trend, the problem should be tackled by promoting the festivals and celebrations that should remain in society through social media platforms such as Facebook and YouTube. For example, the festivals can be promoted as opportunities for people to relax and spend time with their loved ones. Moreover, it can be supported as the highlight event of the country in order to attract both local people and tourists which will directly increase the number of people engaging in the celebration. Hence, the promotion of festivals as special events through online platforms will raise people's awareness and engagement to continue celebrating in the future. To conclude, the transformation in beliefs and interests of the population these days has led to the disappearance of fairs and ceremonies. However, using media especially online-based as a tool to promote the festival will help attract more people which will help cultivate the practices and beauty in the festivals that should not be forgotten in the future.