It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is of paramount importance for the young ones to be able to differentiate between the correct and the incorrect. Although some people recommend that penalty is essential for the kids to understand this, I disagree with them. Nevertheless, the elders should punish them in ways that will benefit the children. There are two important reasons to substantiate my support with the given statement. Firstly, the young pupils are too innocent to be punished at such a tender age because their mistakes are purely unintentional. To be precise, if a child has scribbled on the walls of the school, he/she should be explained about the unnecessary expenses that would incur to rectify the concerned wall. Secondly, if they are punished severely for their faults, not only would they become introvert, but they may also consider that the big people can easily torment the small ones. For example, my nephew who was scolded in his school for mischief started bullying other younger kids in the building. Well, the teachers and parents should penalise these children for the sake of making them understand and not leave a permanent scar on their innocent minds. To begin with, they should ask them to wash the walls, pick up the rubbish, withdraw the privileges or rewards, so as to know that their deeds were incorrect and will not be tolerated again. Moreover, the parents should also take active efforts to consider the actions of their little ones. For instance, my teachers and parents never resorted to any violence but to certain funny penalties that helped me in the long run. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, I truly feel that a simple punishment is a good trick to maintain discipline and it works well for everyone. It is recommended to consider having in-depth knowledge of child psychology before taking any further step.