In school, girls tend to choose art subjects, boys tend to choose science subjects. What causes lead to this situation? Do you think this should be changed?

Subject preferences vary from person to person. However, there seems to be a similar pattern in the same gender which female tends to choose art-related courses while the male is prone to study science curriculum. This phenomenon can be attributed to many complex reasons, the situation, however, should not be changed deliberately. The main factor, prompting this phenomenon, is the different ways of using the brain. Researchers find that girls are more likely to use their right part of the brain which masters linguistic and artistic ability, while boys may naturally use the left part concerning abstract and mathematical thinking. Apart from that, what also accounts for this is the social atmosphere which allocates that females should take some mild, less technical subjects as art, music, in contrast to the high expectations on male which want them to do more serious and professional works, for example, maths and physics, leading to the situation that science becomes male-dominant, art subjects, however, are predominantly be favoured by the female. Despite having great gender differences when choosing a curriculum, I believe that this pattern should not be converted on purpose. Subjects, whether related to arts or science, are there for students to acquire new technics and skills, it itself cannot be judged as good or bad. No matter what courses students select, their knowledge will definitely be expanded, cultivating their personality. However, in order to exercise whole parts of the brain and cultivate a fully developed person, it is also crucial to attract pupils to select the subject they may not that interested in. To sum up, there are various reasons causing the big gender difference on subject selection, this situation should not be forced to alter, but some measures should be done to encourage students to take different kinds of class, therefore enhance their abilities in all aspects.