Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers while others argue that homework plays an indispensable role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of whether homework should be removed from school activities. While this kind of school task is sometimes considered an unnecessary burden on children, I believe that both pupils and teachers can take advantage of it in an appropriate way. To begin with, it is recognised that homework, especially when it is excessive, has detrimental effects on children. Firstly, homework overload raises the risk of several mental disorders among children. In fact, many students complained that they have to face the anxiety and exhaustion coming from challenging assignments and the judgments of teachers if they cannot finish them in time. Secondly, spending too much time on school tasks limits the time budget of children for outdoor activities which play an important role in their mental and physical development. For instance, playing sports can help children maintain a strong body and release the stress from their studies; camping and picnicking can build camaraderie and increase their involvement with the environment and nature, which can not be achieved by any kind of assignment. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that homework is an indispensable aspect of education regarding both the teaching and learning processes. It helps children, on the one hand, revise and reinforce the knowledge they received from academic lessons, enhancing their studying process. It is a fact that without reviewing assignments, pupils cannot master their skills or put what they have learned into practice. Furthermore, there are also other kinds of assignments serving different purposes, one of them being pre-class preparation required by heavy theoretical subjects like literature or history. The students, for example, prepare a given set of questions before class, then practice and debate them together during the lesson, this ameliorates not only students’ knowledge acquisition but also pedagogical quality since there will be more interaction between teachers and students. In conclusion, I believe that if homework is given to pupils in an appropriate way and amount to avoid its drawbacks, it has an important role to play in the schooling of children.