Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, people’s preferences of working change irrefutably in our society. The number of people that tend to be self-employed becomes higher than that working for the corporation. It is believed that the internet plays a significant role in these phenomena. While tremendous opportunities could exist for the future, but there could be some drawbacks to be considered. Nowadays, we all might know that the internet gives us enormous effects, and the working preference is not an exception. In other words, numerous prospects have been made by this technology, which considerably influences the economies worldwide. For instance, there are plentiful ways for citizens to start their business through online platforms, which only requires some prerequisites instead of significant capital expenditures. Besides, this could be easier for diverse generations as they only have to learn about a slight operation of the online application. Thus, this might shift people’s selection to work in a digital era. Nevertheless, the more opportunities are created, the more market competitions would exist. Additionally, this condition could make complicated problems for the market players who are typically hasty on developing their running. Moreover, the collaborations between government and private sectors that remain steady with a minor transformation make amateur entrepreneurs obtain less knowledge and experience to withstand. Undoubtedly, there would be a low improvement in the individual’s economic state of the nation. Therefore, it becomes apparent that being self-employed may lead to some drawbacks for low-skilled people. To summarize, the existence of the internet creates more alternatives for people to work and causes the generation of many start-up businesses in this modern era. However, this trend tends to have difficulties for the untrained worker. Hence, the government should indisputably initiate extensive training and incubations to prepare the generations.