In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Considering the media advancement, civilians these days show their preference toward Western outfits rather than conventional dressing. As far as the diverse culture is concerned, I firmly believe that this tendency is beneficial for the host nations. In the age of globalization, the media plays an essential role in spreading Western influence in fashion. In simple words, as more people are exposed to Western-based items on social networking sites, it would gradually reshape the wearing style and choice of the indigenous, especially the younger generation. After watching Hollywood movies and reading American fashion magazines; many Vietnamese students, for example, often emulate those new notions of dressing. Mass production, moreover, could assist the growing demand of consumers from all over the world, meaning that numerous Western-based clothes could be shipped globally. Thus, those garments have become a norm of dressing patterns in non-Western countries. As a result, Westernization diversifies the host culture, especially costume and tradition. Put differently, only when being influenced by the Western, many international stylists and models could display collections that combine exotic and traditional values. Furthermore, a plethora of mix-up dresses could be witnessed on the streets; a prime example is Korean adolescents are famous for mixture clothing styles. This trend implies that cultural globalization could not only promote the indigenous fashion industry but also stimulate a wide range of innovative clothing in daily life, thereby enhancing the diversity of host traditions. In conclusion, the host culture, particularly in costumes, could be diversified by Western-impact clothing thanks to the advent of media and mass production. However, the traditional value in fashion could not be neglected and therefore each inhabitant should be aware of their conventional dresses.