In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a large number of people from the countryside have an immense tendency to immigrate to large cities in search of a better life and the population of those rustic areas has decreased dramatically. In my opinion, this is a negative trend due to the reasons which will be discussed below. On the one hand, immigration inevitably contributes to some detrimental effects on urban areas. Firstly, there might be a sweeping pressure on infrastructure as they are geared to fewer residents so the facilities are not sufficient to provide all citizens’ needs. Secondly, the job vacancies are not adequate to fulfil all job seekers’ desired occupations. To cite an example, my cousin moved to Tehran in pursuit of his dream career and he failed to find the proper job so he became enormously disappointed and helpless. Finally, overpopulation has led to air pollution and traffic jams because of the fact there will be more cars to be used by the community members. On the other hand, the biggest consequence of emptying rural areas is the loss of human resources. To elaborate on my point, human power is an indispensable part of improvement in any country. Hence, no advancement can be accomplished with the lack of workers and staff in the field of agriculture and some industries particularly. As a result, there should be some productive workforces to advance areas which have so much potential for progression. What it means is that if some measurements are not implemented properly by governments, this trend will continue significantly in the future. To sum up, as discussed in the above paragraphs, the decline in the population of the countryside is a negative development due to depriving those areas from change for the better and bringing new troubles to the populated regions.