People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

It is true that quality family time is on the decline for many households the world over. This tendency is attributable to a host of reasons, and in this essay, I am going to prove that it is going to have dire consequences on both the family and the society. There are two underlying reasons why people are not spending as much time with their family as they used to in the past. First and foremost, hectic work schedules are depriving people of time spent for family. In modern society, most people are occupied with their jobs and struggle for time to properly bond with their spouse or children. Another driving factor that results in insufficient time for family is technology overuse. Given the proliferation of digital devices like the smartphone or tablet, significantly more people, especially younger generations, are becoming addicted to these technologies and isolated from their family as a result. Most teenagers, for example, would rather spend their time interacting with their friends via social media than engage in conversations with their parents. I would contend that the growing trend towards reduced family time is going to have serious repercussions not only on the family but also on the society. Regarding the former, the absence of family time is furthering the distance between family members. This may fuel misunderstandings in the family and potential conflicts, even divorces in worst-case scenarios. The deterioration of family relations could in turn contribute to numerous social problems. For example, when parents spend more time working and less time with their children, they inadvertently leave their children more vulnerable to toxic influences from bad friends or their media consumption, which could be a precursor to increased violence and crime. In conclusion, busy work schedules and heavy use of technological gadgets are to blame for the increasingly less family together time, and I am convinced that this phenomenon has a number of negative implications for family society.