Most famous athletes sign contracts to promote/advertise certain products. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is a common scenario that most companies are trying to involve familiar sports person for the advertisement of a specific brand. Though it has some demerits, the merits are more acceptable. The key advantage of contracting with famous players for the promotion of an item is to reach the targeted group of community in an efficient way because public believe in familiar faces. Thus, it is easy to convince the customers who are willing to buy a commodity of any specific group. Moreover, the halo effect plays a vital role here. Society always thinks that a good player must send a good message to others. As a result, if they see an athlete promoting a merchandise, they try to understand that the output is good. For instance, taking this advantage into consideration, most of the renowned companies in India contract with famous cricket players, who are known to the public, to advertise their products. On the other hand, most of the advertisements are deceptive as the marketing department of any company tries to highlight the attractive features rather than showing all nature of a commodity. For this reason, community are not familiar with the negative side of this commodity, which is unethical. If the negative side is revealed, the public blames the person who was involved in the advertisement. For example, Marshafee Bin Mortuza, former captain of Bangladesh National cricket team faced this problem when he advertised about Eorange, an online shopping mall. Eorange escaped from the market without giving the products to the customers which were paid as pre-orders. However, public sentiments went against Mashrafee Bin Mortuza as they paid money by trusting him. In conclusion, it can be said that although making an agreement with famous athletes has some negative impacts related to hiding the nature of any commodity, the positives, such as reaching the customer and gaining their trust, are more acceptable.