Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present age, whether museums serve best as entertainment centers or whether they are best left as places of education has sparked much debate. In this essay I will present both views and shall state my opinion as well. Firstly, entertaining museums are more monetarily successful. Strictly speaking, if an attraction is more geared towards amusing its visitors instead of teaching them it will be more popular. This is just a fact of nature, because learning new information is much more difficult when compared to entertainment, which requires no thought. Larger profits mean a larger influence, economically and socially, which are all huge feathers in amusing museums cap. So, pleasurable museums continuously earn more than scholarly ones and thus, have more options, more influence and have a greater impact on the economy. Secondly, uninformative museums can become relevant more frequently and stay so longer. Museums which are delightful and enjoyable can change their programs and exhibits, while solemn and academic institutions cannot afford to do it frequently, if at all. Because education is not their main priority, delightful museums can create new, spectacular exhibits without worrying about changing or losing their educational value. This is a huge benefit, which allows for these establishments to stay relevant and attract new customers more easily. Once a person has been to an instructional museum, they have little to no incentive to return, which reduces the amount of customers that this kind of museum can take in. The harm of this effect is opposite to the benefits of a bigger profit. Henceforth, amusing museums receive more return customers and thus, larger profits than academic museums. However, enlightening museums are more beneficial to society. This kind of museum’s purpose is to preserve past artifacts and to teach willing people their history and importance. This is important because the past must be preserved and museums can be host to direct sources, from which history is told today. Museums come in many different form factors, but their main goal is the same: to inform the public through various means. Museums don’t need to be entertaining to serve this purpose, because there are other places to seek amusement. Were museums to abandon their mission in order to seek a larger profit, they would lose their purpose and niche, while gaining significant competition in the entertainment industry. Museums can be entertaining and informative at the same time, but the biggest advantage can only come if the main goal of the institution is educational. Whereas recreational museums do not serve such a grand purpose, only enriching local culture at best and being a run-of-the-mill place to have fun at worst.