Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Ensuring national security has become one of the main goals for governments all around the world, therefore, it is proposed by some, that they should have access to individuals' mobile phone data, such as messages and calls, to secure safety. However, other people argue that this information is private and cannot be available without person's approval. In my opinion, such data access can result in increased safety in many regions, however, it is required to change the legislation to make this possible. I agree, that when governments are given access to people's phones, it is possible to fight against crime, and therefore, develop national security. Monitoring suspicious messages, could result in preventing terrorist attacks from happening, which can safe lives of many. Technological advances make it possible to filter all the accessed messages to find the dangerous ones. This practise makes this method even more effective. However, people should be aware of such practices, since current legislation in many developed countries protects personal data and trust governments. It is true that such method can be seen as an invasion of privacy. Moreover, over the phone people tend to share vulnerable information about themselves, which is not meant to be heard by other people. It is a civil right to have personal space. In order to give governments access to individuals gadgets, the legislation should be changed. This means that the majority of citizens should vote for such changes. To achieve this, the benefits of the practise, mentioned previously, should be made clearer to people so that they can understand the value of it. To conclude, I agree that the governments should have access to our personal data collected through our phones, however, it is at the moment considered as an invasion of privacy, therefore, the legislation should be changed to enable such practices.