Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports stars are paid too much money. Do you agree or disagree? Which other types of job should be highly paid?

It is often said that people who work in the entertainment industry such as movie stars, musicians, and sports stars are being overpaid. This essay discusses why I think they are paid too much money and then I will describe other occupations that I think should receive higher salaries. The main reason I strongly feel that the salaries are too high is that the entertainers’ income does not reflect the amount of work they do. For instance, a top star movie like Angelina Jolie can easily make one million dollars by acting in a single film. This amount may never be reached by many people during their life, no matter how hard working they are. In addition, if we base a person’s income, according to their relative contribution to community the incomes of entertainers seem too high. This is because entertainment is not as important to our society as much as other fields such as science and technology. There are other professions that deserve to be paid more for their work. More specifically, people like doctors who make a big contribution towards well-being of patients should be rewarded more. Since doctors can save lives and give people hope, they should receive a high amount to reflect the meaningful contributions they make. Another type of occupation deserving of a good salary is teachers who have a huge responsibility to contribute to the education of the next generation seem to be underpaid. Surely people we entrust with such a task should be rewarded accordingly. In conclusion, I reiterate my strong belief that entertainers are overpaid as they do not offer anything greater than other people who are working in other industries. It is advocated that people who make a significant contribution to humanity, such as medical practitioners and teachers should be rewarded appropriately. I recommend that steps should be taken to address this disparity.