The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

As the modern world is advanced and peaceful, the barrier preventing humanity from overpopulating is crumbling. As of 2023, there are over 8 billion individuals walking the Earth, posing a great threat to ourselves. Provided that the human race has faced and overcome infinite threats, some of which could obliterate all civilization, I believe overpopulation isn’t the greatest issue we’ve faced. Overpopulation is solely caused by the skyrocketed rate of life expectancy. To elaborate, in the past when things weren’t as peaceful or advanced, people died before they got old. For instance, the plague took millions of lives as a result of the lack of proper medical knowledge. This is impossible to happen in the 21st century due to the current medical situation. In addition, wars aren’t fought anymore, at least not physically. Because physical wars existed at all times, people had to participate in them and many didn’t come back alive. However, as none of this is a problem nowadays, it basically means that major factors that halted us to reproduce all vanished into oblivion. Meaning that humanity will thrive. It’s being debated whether the opinion of the population boom is the greatest menace in history is valid or not. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with the opinion due to the record of every threat we survived, and the insignificance of overly populated humans. Take the recently developed situation, for example, we’re entering a state of a cold war, and at constant risk of a nuclear apocalypse. Which also caused the gradual economic downfall. This is serious compared to a rise in population. Furthermore, scientists predict only when the number of humans reaches 10 billion, it’ll become a problem. If everything civilization has survived, the current situation of nations and the small issue of the number of people are taken into consideration, It’s clear that overpopulation isn’t the biggest problem we’re facing. Therefore, I conclude that the significantly rising amount of humans pose a threat, but one that’s lesser than economic depression and a nuclear apocalypse.