Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

In recent years, the declining tendency to commute by bicycle as a means of transport has garnered widespread interest. This situation can be explained by some potential reasons and should be addressed by definite measures. There may be two significant causes as to why there is a lower number of citizens cycling compared to other means of transport. Firstly, other modern forms of transport, such as motorbike and private car, are more interesting because of their flexibility and convenience which outweighs that of bicycles. It is obvious that commuting by those means, residents can commute fast, consume less time travelling and even do not require physical conditions. Secondly, there are few dedicated cycle paths existing for residents to ride on. Therefore, bicyclists must cycle on the same road with motorbikes and car users, which even makes using bicycles more dangerous. This is conducive to a decrease in bicycling users and poses a detrimental danger to those riding on the car lanes. However, this problem can be ameliorated by taking several definite remedies, which could be handled by the government. It is necessary to put extra taxes on those using fossil fuel transport, thus limiting commuting by motorbikes and cars. That being the case, people are encouraged to ride bicycles more and this issue could be tackled. Furthermore, the government should allocate their budget to construct lanes and infrastructure for bicyclists. Therefore, the upgraded and modernized cycling path system can make residents realize the convenience of travelling by bicycle and switch to this means. In summary, it is undeniable that there are fewer bicycle users than fossil fuel transport ones, which is ascribed to a couple of reasons. Nonetheless, it is predicted that if these remedies are employed, this problem can be alleviated.