Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, computer-delivered games have attracted a lot of youngsters. Accordingly, they spend the majority of their leisure time playing and they overlook practicing the needed physical activities. Reasons and effects with my opinion about its positivity or negativity will be explained in the following lines. To begin with, video games have a variety of graphics and sound effects that directly affect the players and make them stay playing for long periods. In other words, the variety of attractive effects with grade levels in the computer-delivered games may result in staying in the same position for continuous hours to pass level after level without feeling that the time is passing. For instance, if a FIFA player started a championship, he/she would not think to leave the playing location for a long time. Thus, the mentioned attracted players may neglect sports activities. As a result of the above-expected, video- games players may suffer from health problems because of playing for long periods. To explain, medical experts have proven that sitting for long times in one position may negatively affect the backbone. In addition, overlooking sports activities such as walking or running may cause obesity, diabetes, and high blood pressure. Consequently, this may provide weaker generations on a physical and mental health basis which are considered major drawbacks. In conclusion, many youngsters are keen on playing computer games for long periods because they are attracted by games ' graphical and sound effects. Therefore, it could be considered a negative development because of its cons on players ' health.