In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax provate car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The number of cars in the road has increased drastically over these years. More people are opting to get their own cars however the increase of cars in the roads have caused traffic problems. There are certain advantages and disadvantages if the government decides to tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. One of the main advantage would be due to the governemnt imposing high tax would be stopping people from driving and purchasing cars. This will benefit the envirnoment as it will decrease air pollution. Another advantage by using this money to improve public transportation, it will benefit the population greatly as many people use public transport like buses and trains daily to commute to work. However, this will cause a disadvantage especially for families with children and elders. The convinence of having a private will benefit them. For example, parents will be able to drop their children off for school and pick them up after work. This will also cause a strain in their financial budget as they will have to pay more. To conclude, traveling by private car or public transport should be a choice by people. I strongly do not believe that that the government should impose such tax on private car owners. Instead, they can work on improving the public transport for the general public.