Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising has played an important role in our business activities. While some advocate its extraordinary effect in convincing consumers, others believe it is no longer that important. In this essay, I am going to review both sides to draw a conclusion. For some people, the convincing nature of advertisements is the greatest advantage. There is no denying that advertising can affect buying behaviours. Firstly, with some brands frequently appearing in various media, people are more familiar with their products. Consequently, they are more likely to be chosen over other brands that people have never heard of. In addition, in order to impress the public, advertisements are usually designed with tactics to meet individuals' needs at a deeper level. For instance, some teenagers tend to purchase unnecessary commodities promoted by celebrities only to support their idols. However, commercials are so prevalent nowadays that their effects are largely reduced. In other words, given the explosive information surrounding us, we are no longer as sensitive to them as we used to be. Therefore, their influence on the mass can be limited. Take me as an example. When I was little, I enjoyed watching even commercials on TV because they were stimulating and sensational. But nowadays I could hardly bear a second of watching them as they are mostly cliche and boring. To conclude, advertising still matters as an indispensable part of marketing since it can be highly persuasive if targeted at the right audience. Nevertheless, in the information era where people are exposed to excessive stimuli, the advertising industry has to struggle very hard so that their efforts are not wasted. In my opinion, both views are valid but we should take a balanced stance regarding advertising.