Some people think that men are naturally more competitive than women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Competition is present in human lives since always. Some people argue that the competitive behaviour of male gender is more natural than the other gender. As I see it, I partly agree with the statement and this essay will elaborate more. First of all, history can show that men were those who must have to prove themselves competitively. Whereas women’s tasks were taking care of children and being housewives, men should provide food, safety and respect for their families. As a result, they normally have to compete between themselves for land or honour, or just to demonstrate which man was the strongest to be the leader or the chief. Therefore, I agree that historically, men have been carrying this aptitude or even veiled responsibility to competitiveness. Furthermore, until these days, even in the workplace, it is common to see men competing to prove who is more capable or has a bigger salary. However, as far as I am concerned, this can be explained by a lack of opportunities for women. In the past,they were not allowed to participate in competitive events and dispute positions just because of their sex. Differently, nowadays every sport that allows men to show their grandiosity, also has space for the other gender and sometimes, the latter have uppermost results, proving that the fragile sex is just an older and prejudiced term. For instance, Marta, a Brazilian soccer player, has won more “Ballon D'or ” than any other man alive. Hence, it is just a matter of equality and opportunities, which was unthinkable decades ago, to women prove their value To conclude, although I agree that it is possible to relate a greater sense and disposition to competitiveness to men due to the history and their positions in the past, I can not ignore the fact that women are pursuing their own space and proving in numbers and attitude that they can be equally or even more competitive than them.