over population of urban areas has lead to numerous problems. identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that government and individuals tackle these problems.

More and more issues are occurring in cities due to overpopulation. One of the major problems faced by people living in urban areas is traffic jams which are mainly caused by the significant increase in the number of cars on the city roads and a viable solution to tackle this is to increase the frequency of public transport. This essay will discuss my viewpoint in detail with relevant examples. These days, too many cars on the roads cause the trouble of traffic congestion. That is to say that people are depending on their personal transport because the public transportation systems such as buses and trains are not reliable and convenient. In addition, it causes roadblocks, especially during peak hours and the vehicles tend to move slowly particularly in the city centres and on the main roads which impact civilians to get anywhere on time. For example, a recent study shows that an average of 60% of folks living in urban areas complained that the morning commute is a nightmare in rush hours because of heavy traffic. A solution that is proving successful in many populated areas is improving the frequency of public transport systems. In other words, policymakers should increase the accessibility of such vehicles, so that people have access regardless of time. In addition, this enhances reliability which influences them to reduce their dependence on cars. Furthermore, such reliance and convenience motivate everyone to use buses or trains as their primary mode of commute. For instance, research proved that the new 24/7 operation bus policy has significantly reduced the number of cars in downtown, Canada. In conclusion, even though a metropolis has numerous issues, one of the major problems they encounter is traffic which could be alleviated by increasing the availability of various modes of transport which in turn lowers their dependence on personal vehicles.