Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for the younger generation. Why is this the case? Should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

With the advent of multi-cultural societies and rapid changes being made in lifestyles, people’s choice of spending their free time has changed considerably. While some people opine that adolescence must spend their time following different hobbies others prefer to spend their quality time shopping. I will substantiate the reason for this trend in the following paragraphs. Owing not only to gigantic shopping malls but also glossy advertisement many teenagers are being lured towards shopping culture. First of all, as trade has started to bloom more and more products are being easily made available to the masses. In addition to this, either the items are available at a reduced rate or there is competition in the market. Secondly, the government has not only reduced the taxes on many imported products but also has increased trade from foreign countries. For example, my friend is fond of perfumes which he purchases easily from foreign brands which were not possible earlier. Furthermore, shopping centres provide a good place to relax and spend quality time. Although shopping culture has many benefits we must encourage other activities for the youth such as jogging, cycling or going to the gym to stay fit and healthy. Moreover, developing other hobbies not only inculcates different morals and values it also aggrandizes the responsibilities one share as an individual. In addition to this, for the holistic development of an individual, it is best if one spends some time reading books or watching a movie. Conclusively, with more and more shopping plaza being opened the trend to spend free- time there has considerably increased. This is a positive development as it increases the sales of the product thus a variety of products are easily available in the market