Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Examinations play an important role in evaluating individual educational success. Some people say that traditional examinations are not the right way to measure academic achievement. In my opinion, there are many other ways to assess education. In this essay, I would discuss different types of assessments with examples. There are many kinds of fields available at present, where each of it has a special requirement to full fill. According to the criteria, an individual must be assessed based upon the necessity. For instance, a student who is studying a supply chain management should have a theory knowledge, where he should memorize all concepts about the modes of transportation and loads. Hence, he or she should be evaluated on a pen and paper exam. Thus, this will help us to measure their achievement. On the other hand, there is a certain education field, which is evaluated differently. To illustrate this view, a medical student, who plays a crucial role in society should be evaluated differently. Moreover, she should be evaluated by checking their practical knowledge as they are trained or practised doing surgeries. This way we can measure their success in their education. Which also helps us to get the accurate result and people to consider. To sum up, not all the examinations are conducted traditionally. Each should be evaluated as per their necessity. There are many domains which require purely practical understanding whereas some need only theory. Hence, in my opinion, formal “pen and paper” examinations are not correct way to measure academic success.