Private car ownership has grown dramatically in recent years. This has led to a rise in traffic congestion. What could governments and individuals do to reduce congestion?

In the 21st century, as the world’s population has risen consumerization of private cars increased leading to roads being blocked by cars. In my perspective, using public transport as a solution is not effective, therefore, government and individuals could find more successful ways to reduce congestion. Building upper and lower level roads on the highways decrease the number of cars creating a traffic jam. For example, Eastern Asian countries as South Korea and Japan built multiple levels on the road to avoid the crowding of vehicles. In that way, people driving in one direction won’t face congestions. Instead of expanding road by using free lands, this method will be effective for any country to reduce traffic jam. The program of hiring an automobile offers a practical choice for drivers shortening the usage of private vehicles. According to that, the user could get a car by an app for a time and then, others could hire the same car which will reduce the number of cars in the city. In my opinion, if the program will have an affordable price and comfort, many people will use the offer instead of purchasing cars of their own. Therefore, if there are only a few cars traffic congestion won’t rise. To sum up, government and individuals by working together can shorten the number of private cars. If the rebuilding of roads will allow to reduce traffic jam, not owning but hiring a vehicle decreases the number of cars. In a similar way, people can avoid congestions on the highways.