All children should study a foreign language in school, starting in the earlist grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that learning a foreign language should begin during the child's formative years in school. This essay completely agrees with that statement because it would take less effort for them to acquire new knowledge the younger they are, and it can improve one's cognitive skills quicker. One of the advantages of having younger students is that they can quickly learn new things. Teaching them another way to converse at a young age would come naturally to them. Accordingly, they will be able to study it without pressure, leading them to learn this new skill quickly. Study shows that on a biological level, an offspring's brain is like a sponge, designed to absorb new information unconsciously. Hence, while it is possible to become highly competent in a language at any period of life, it requires more effort as you grow old. Furthermore, children who study a second language develop problem-solving and creative thinking skills ahead of those who only speak their mother tongue since their brains have been experiencing a constant workout as they try to sort out which language to speak and when. Researchers have found that a bilingual child, compared to other students their age, is better at planning, concentrating, and multitasking, which in turn has resulted in higher scores on standardized tests. In conclusion, having a child learn a foreign language at a young age can be beneficial as they can grasp and understand it quickly, and it can help them develop their problem-solving, creative thinking, and concentration. Thus, It is safe to say that teaching them a foreign language sets them up for success.