Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Cooking skills and knowledge about the products you are eating considering important for starting adult life. Even so, should school teach cooking, healthy eating habits or it will just steal time from main academic subjects? This essay looks into both points of view before I provide my personal opinion. It is clear, that it hard to stay on a healthy diet in our times. Learning to cook your own meal, count calories and choose right ingredients will help children set up good habits and be more conscious about their food. It will not only improve individual health but might improve statistics of obesity, eating disorders and other medical problems. For example, being overweight raises your risk for diabetes, and heart disease. In my opinion, importance of the right diet cannot be overrated nowadays, considering risk of chronic diseases and early heart problems. However, not everyone agrees with this. In most academy schedule is already full, especially in middle and high school. For example, significant numbers of pupils have extra classes or sports clubs. The hardest time is the last years of high school, when teenagers must think not only about their applications to colleges, but also a full list of school exams. In such an environment, suggestions of any additional classes may be seen as unrealistic and even insensitive to students. Nonetheless, in my eyes, younger students can benefit from such training. In conclusion, educational question are frequently difficult and tend to bring controversy. I think, the best time to teach kids food science is elementary and early middle school due to the fact there still enough place in the timetable, also food-related activities can be a part of biology, science or ecology courses.