In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Most nations across the globe have experienced a trend where more people from rural areas are moving to the cities which means there is a decrease in terms of population living in the countryside. This essay strongly argues that this phenomenon is bad for the development of many countries due to two main reasons. Firstly, leaving our hometowns to cities just because of finding better opportunities means that we have overlooked the potential of those rural areas. This is not a correct perspective since it will lead to a situation where skilled workers or those who are exposed to recent technological advancements are not willing to develop the resources that are often only available in the countryside into products which have much bigger values to be sold. If this trend continues, then the economic activities will be only centred around several big cities. For example, there are many villages in Indonesia which have great potential in agriculture and fishing sectors. However, because of the non-existance of skilled workers in those areas, many of them still rely on traditional methods. By only using these kind of techniques, they often cannot get good outcomes. Secondly, people that are left behind in the rural areas are becoming poorer and those who are moving to big cities are often richer. The reason for this is due to the fact that people living in the countryside are not getting priviledges to have minimum wages as big as those who are in the cities. People that are still in the villages usually do not hesitant to receive small salaries as long as they can feed themselves and their families. In conclusion, we need to socialize about the importance of staying in our hometowns and focus to create new economic opportunities by using artificial intelligence or other state of the art technologies in order to make more jobs in the rural areas and improve the welfare of people living there. By doing this, we can also minimize the gap in terms of the wealth between people who are still in the countryside and those who are already staying in the cities.