Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, when the development of information technology is increasing, all the traditional activities of young people are also being replaced by games or Internet surfing,... In this essay, I will discuss more the reasons behind and elaborate on the negative side of this development. To begin with, adolescents these days tend to work and study harder than in the past to have a better life in the future. As a consequence, they easily get stressed and peer pressure so they will find playing games to release the stress or recharge their batteries after a hard-working day. Furthermore, because the game industry is growing day by day, there is an existence of VR games that attract a lot of people, you can both interact with the actions or scenes in the game through a realistic perspective. On the other hand, this development brings a lot of drawbacks to the development of one’s life. If playing games is abused, this is a “double-edged sword”. School-age - the country’s future generation, for instance, has a negative impact on not only health and psychology, but also moral behaviour and personality. Initially, it was just for the sake of entertainment. Over time, players will develop psychological instability, despair, scowl and brash behaviour with their parents. Moreover, playing computer games can become addicting, resulting in the waste of valuable time. Rather than spending time enhancing skills, partaking in social activities, many waste time on computer games. In conclusion, besides the awareness in playing computer games of adults, the government should organize more attractive playfields or clubs for adults.