Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

It is true that the traffic jam has become a serious problem in many countries, and with each passing day, this problem is becoming more and more dangerous in almost all the regions of the world. Therefore, I strongly believed that the use of bicycles instead of heavy vehicles is the best solution to avoid traffic jams. (57) We had seen in the past that people mostly used horses and donkeys for travelling and transportation from one place to another until the invention of the wheel in the 19th century. Thus, the smooth flow of traffic was not a big problem in many countries in the past. (47) Presently, the traffic jam is a matter of serious attention for the entire world. Nowadays, many countries are trying their best to find the solutions of traffic jams. In many parts of the world, governments are promoting bicycle usage. This is because of several reasons like bicycles did not consume any fuel. They are much cheaper than any other vehicle, and they are also an environmentally friendly mean of transportation. In addition, bicycles also help people to stay active and healthy. (80) The recent development in science and technology has enabled the countries to design modern road structures in order to ensure the steady flow of traffic. Thus, if the focus of countries remained on the promotion of bicycle usage, then the world will surely get rid of traffic jams in the near future. (52) Hence, the use of bicycles is one of the most suitable mean of transportation as it not only allows the traffic to move smoothly by cutting down the space on the roads but also minimize air pollution. (37)