In some countries, the widespread use of the Internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The advent of the Internet has changed the ways people live their lives and complete work. A growing number of people are now choosing to work from home or apply an online course. While the Internet may trigger various problems, I believe it has greater benefits. The widespread use of the Internet has three obvious advantages. To begin with, people do not need to take transportations to workplaces or schools, which saves them a lot commuting time. With less people travelling on the road, it lightens the traffic burden as well. Secondly, the Internet allows employees to choose their ideal jobs and students to apply for their favourite education programmes regardless of geographic barriers, because they all can conduct from home, which really brings huge convenience to them. Finally, compared to working in an office building or studying in classrooms, people will find it easier to concentrate on the stuff they are doing now without any distraction, thus the work or study efficiency will increase dramatically. Despite the advantages above, we should also recognize the fact that it also poses a threat to their social skills development. Since people work or study alone at home, communicating through online social media, they have less opportunities to talk with others face-to-face. Consequently, when they interact with people in real life situations, they may lack the social manners of communication or misunderstand others’ message, giving rise to disputes and preventing them from building a strong bond with colleagues or classmates. In conclusion, although the Internet may have a negative influence on people’s social relationships, I would argue that the advantages of using the Internet prevail over its demerits provided that use it properly and sensibly.