Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?Discuss the above and give your opinion using examples.

Education and healthcare are two main sectors which are always at the centre of debate whether they should be funded by the government or not. In my opinion, free funding should be provided only to someone who is meeting certain criteria in the case of education and for everyone when it comes to health care. In this essay, we are going to discuss whether these sectors should be funded or should they be the responsibility of the individual. I believe that learning is a must for every individual. Therefore, the government should only fund those who are not able to afford it. Funding can encourage parents from poor sections of the society to enrol their children into schools. Whereas, there is no need to provide funding to those who are already able to afford it. For instance, In our country, people who are below the poverty line are reluctant to enrol their children citing the school fee as the reason. If the government is able to fund these sections then this can increase the number of children enrolling in the schools, colleges and also provide them with an opportunity to improve their standards of living. In addition to this, Funding can also be provided to merit students as this could provide them with a sense of achievement. Coming to healthcare, I feel that it can be provided free of cost, for all the sections of society. Funding the healthcare will prevent people from ignoring any illness and get it checked as soon as possible. For example, many people ignore the initial symptoms of the disease as they hope that they will subside on their own without spending any amount for checkups. However, neglecting early signs can lead to something more serious and can also lead to the spread of infections among others. In summary, As education helps the poor to improve their standard of living and also provides a sense of achievement, for the scholar's education should be provided to them free of cost. In the case of healthcare, it should be funded for everyone.