Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that local literature is of greater importance in children’s education compared to foreign literature. From my perspective, I disagree with this view since both types of literature play equal roles in the development of children. On the one hand, locally written works come with numerous benefits to students. Firstly, these pieces of art can enrich student’s skills to use their own language. Indeed, through learning literature of their mother tongue, students can learn the art of using the language, such as the flexibility in the vocabulary highlights used, the syntax of sentences, different ways to convey ideas. Hence, linguistic knowledge will gradually be built up and benefit the students not only in their study but also in social communication. Secondly, national literary works to give students an insight into their own culture. For example, through traditional literature, namely fairy tales, legends and fables, students can become familiar with their traditions, native terms and also national values which have been passed down from generation to generation. As a result, they will naturally develop a sense of national identity and patriotism. On the other hand, studying foreign literature is also advantageous for the following reasons. To begin with, it gives learners opportunities to expand their horizons by showing them a bigger picture of the outside world. Having access to foreign historical events and cultures, commentaries on politics, society, and stereotypes in literature from countries abroad will foster students’ awareness of the diversity of the world. Additionally, the students will be equipped with a broader range of knowledge to help them be more prepared for the globalized world that we are living in today. To be more specific, the students will have a grasp of the culture of foreign countries and how to adapt themselves in terms of manners, customs or behaviours if they live in that new environment or dealing with foreigners. In conclusion, it seems to me that there is a need to teach both local and foreign literature at schools so that students can develop comprehensively.