In the last century when a human astronaut arrived on the moon, He said “it is a big step for mankind”. But some people say it makes little or no difference to our daily life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Exploration of the space by the humans has been generated controversy in the past. In the last century, when a human astronaut stepped on the moon, he said it was "a giant leap for mankind”. However, some people thought it made little difference to our daily lives. There are several reasons why some people view space exploration unnecessary. Firstly, the exploration of space costs a lot. Travelling to space require state-of-the-art equipment and complicated devices, not to mention the education and training of astronauts. Each year, billions of dollars are considered by plenty of countries for space exploration, while this money could have been used in more urgent problems, such as saving poor people who may die of malnutrition, starvation, or war. Secondly, exploring space is fraught with risk. For example, NASA's first two shuttles, Challenger and Columbia, were lost in spaceflight tragedies of 1986 and 2003 that cost 14 astronauts' lives. Conversely, other people believe exploring space is crucial for the mankind. First of all, analysing the untouched territory might contribute to the scientific progress. From the macroscopic and microscopic perspective, humans will know more about the universe and have a deeper understanding of these planets’ interior environment. For instance, some rare metals and minerals existed in space were found to have medicinal value in curing cancer, which impetus the further development of medicine. Furthermore, studying space can benefit the future generation. For the continuous deterioration of the environment, the surface of the Earth may become entirely uninhabitable in the future. Therefore, exploring space will be of help for the coming generations, who can survive on other planets. To sum up, although might be costly and risky, space exploration has touched our everyday lives through scientific progress and may get tied up with the future generation's survival. Consequently, I definitely believe that exploring space is a big leap for mankind.