Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Connecting with people over social media and other platforms has become very common these days as more people prefer to meet online rather than in person. In my opinion, this is certainly a positive development which gives a great opportunity for keeping constant touch with distant family & friends, managing time and belonging to the larger community. Online platforms are a great source to maintain touch with one’s folks. Before the internet, offices were relatively relaxed and employees enjoyed fixed working hours. Whereas now in order to meet their job expectations people can hardly find frequent time to travel and meet their family. Moreover, it becomes an annual affair if they stay in a different country or region. With digital media, this trend is changing and individuals seek more time to celebrate the important occasions with their family on virtual party meetings. Another reason why online interaction seems more attractive is that they save the time and effort required to go and meet somebody in person. For example, for many mothers and working women, personal life would take a toss while juggling with their work and children. But the online messengers and media have made it a lot easier to communicate and interact with their social pals in these challenging times. Lastly, virtual meetings are helping everyone to connect with one other across the globe. For instance, small and medium businesses may not be able to hold international meetings personally. Such a scenario pushes for online meetings and encourages globalization. Furthermore, employees also get to learn and shape their overall personality. In conclusion, the development of social online platforms is beneficial in many aspects. Besides saving their time and effort, it fulfils their need of belonging by keeping them in touch with their close family network who may not be living near them while also making them part of a bigger community across the world.