Today, the high sale of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, advertisement is considered as the main tool for selling products. Even, people fail to recognize their actual needs and end up buying things which is not so necessary. It is agreed that increased sales of popular goods are the outcome of powerful advertising. Analysing the advancement of technology and the tendency of human beings to value what they do not have will prove this. Firstly, the usage of technology is progressively on the rise. The markting firms are making use of this to showcase their newly launched and high demand goods through mediums such as television, radio and social media etc. For instance, a person who do not have premium membership of youtube, may not be able to watch a film without interruption of markting videos. Furthermore, popular brands use social platforms such as Facebook and Instagram to sell their items. As a result, nobody is able to spent a day without watching a single promotion programme. Secondly, the society is divides into different strata based on the wealth of people. Therefore, the poorer has a tendency to follow the footsteps of of affluent one. For example, a study conducted in America has shown that majority of the participants value what they do not own than the things they actually possess. Subsequently, they end up buying unnecessary goods in order to match status of the rich. Unfortunately, the organizations which sell appliances exploit this basic human nature. Thus, people will fall in this trap without even their knowledge. To sum up, i reiterate that, the more the influence of marketing, the higher the number of goods sold.