Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

In this day and age, copying educational content matter has become a matter of great concern in some nations. This is mainly due to increasing competition among students, but it can be controlled by making stringent rules and regulations. Amongst the major factors, the high-tech level of competition is perhaps the most contributing significant element. That is to say, students want to achieve a high score in examinations to get a job in a reputed company along with a handsome salary, thus, they are more likely to copyright work from books available in the library instead of doing work hard by them. In India, for instance, 85% of pupils copied the material from books and previous journals. Not only this, the advancement of technology is another reason. Schoolgoing students, for instance, use Wikipedia at an alarming rate to accomplish their tasks without applying their own mind, and in many schools, it is a common trend to copyright the material to complete the assignments by using online sites such as medclinic.com and infopage.com which able to get good grades in the studies. Turning to solutions, institutions ought to maintain stringent rules and regulations against plagiarism, exemplify, as putting hefty fines on those who find guilty, and dismiss from school for a year. By doing this, they never copy the work of others. Also, education centres must ban the use of electronic devices: computers and mobile phones on study campuses, therefore, students apply their own minds in their studies. Moreover, higher authorities maintain a few rules and regulations on online sites to avoid the copy of subject matters. In conclusion, despite the fact that copyright infringement of academic work is a growing problem in different states and is a major concern we are facing today if appropriate actions are taken by the government and individuals, it can be resolved to a greater extent.